Monday, May 20, 2024

2 colossal solar flares explode from the sun and Earth is in the firing line (video)

Astronomy2 colossal solar flares explode from the sun and Earth is in the firing line (video)


Newly emerged sunspot region AR3663 is already making a name for itself, firing off not one but two powerful solar flares within just six hours of each other. 

The first eruption occurred last night (May 2) when the sun released the most powerful category flare, an X-class solar flare, causing shortwave radio blackouts across Australia, Japan and much of China. The flare peaked at 10:22 p.m. EDT (0222 GMT) and ended shortly after at 10:27 p.m. EDT (0227 GMT). The next eruption came this morning (May 3) when the second most powerful category flare, an M-class solar flare, peaked around 4:00 a.m. EDT (0800 GMT). 



Check out our other content

Most Popular Articles