Saturday, May 18, 2024

Total solar eclipse 2024 has begun and here are the first views!

AstronomyTotal solar eclipse 2024 has begun and here are the first views!


It’s the moment eclipse-chasers have been waiting for. This year’s first solar eclipse has begun! 

The total solar eclipse first made landfall in North America at Mazatlán in Sinaloa, Mexico, with the moon beginning to take its first “bite” out of the sun at 9:51 a.m. local time (12:51 p.m. EDT, 1651 GMT). Totality will begin in Sinaloa about one hour and 16 minutes later at 11:07 a.m. local time (2:07 p.m. EDT, 1807 GMT).

Check out our other content

Most Popular Articles